• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Deism - a prospect

Gemma Cusack

A free spirit
I would like to put forward this question. I studied philosophy at A-level and became intrigued by the deist theory. But I never really came to understand deism in depth. Rather I know the basics. Anyway, my question is.

Is deism a more complex representation of an agnostic trying to accept the possibility of there being a God, or is deism a representation that we feel alone, and are trying to find a way of making ourselves feel better?

I am :sorry1: if this question either sounds completely idiotic or makes no sense, but then, you will come to understand how confused I am by deism itself. I know this is probably hypocritical of me, but surely, there is either a yes or a no answer to the existence of God, and not a in-between measurment.

I :bow: anyone who can put it into context for me.

tumbleweed41

Resident Liberal Hippie
Deism is a philosophical belief in the existence of a God (or Prime Mover) on the basis of reason, and observation of the natural world alone. Deist believe this God is intrapersonal and is not involved directly in its creation.