• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

I don't want to be a therapist anymore

Ashoka

श्री कृष्णा शरणं मम
I hate to admit that. Because it sounds so bad. It has nothing to do with my clients. I love them. I love helping people and offering hope.

But I can't do this anymore. The politics, the paperwork, the micromanaging...it's too much. Too much for me. Yes, I got my degree in social work, but that doesn't mean I must continue doing this. I can do other things. I can even try a new career. Maybe I can go back to my old job working at a group home...

I just know I'm not happy. And I want a change.

ChristineM

"Be strong", I whispered to my coffee.
Premium Member
I hate to admit that. Because it sounds so bad. It has nothing to do with my clients. I love them. I love helping people and offering hope.

But I can't do this anymore. The politics, the paperwork, the micromanaging...it's too much. Too much for me. Yes, I got my degree in social work, but that doesn't mean I must continue doing this. I can do other things. I can even try a new career. Maybe I can go back to my old job working at a group home...

I just know I'm not happy. And I want a change.

Stick with your current job while looking for an alternative, if you find something you'll be happier doing then apply for the job, when you are accepted is time to dump your old job.

This has a double benefit of keeping money coming in and giving hope for the future.

VoidCat

Pronouns: he/they/it/neopronouns