• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Israel, Palestinians, context, history, chicken and egg

icehorse

......unaffiliated...... anti-dogmatist
Premium Member
Lots of threads on RF about the war in Gaza.

I've put some time into studying the last couple of hundred years into studying Israel. I'm no expert, but if we just take the last hundred years the history is incredibly complex. I see a lot of finger pointing going on in these RF discussions, and a lot of the finger pointing seems to boil down to:

"well your side started it". E.g. "Hamas is justified, because Israel oppresses Palestinians".

From a logic perspective, if you make a claim like the above, you ARE using some context in your claim. Your argument is dependent on the idea that - at least in recent history - you think Israel has been oppressing Palestinians. If recent history was different and Gaza was paradise on earth, you probably wouldn't think that Hamas's attacks on Oct. 7th were justified.

From my perspective, CONTEXT ALMOST ALWAYS MATTERS. So it's fine that you use some historical context to draw your conclusions, that's often how we sort out ethical and moral dilemmas. Context is often key in legal situations.

== How much context is the correct context?