• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

My Journey As A Christian

ChristineES

Tiggerism
Premium Member
In August of this year, I will have been a Christian for 30 years. During my teen years, I did a lot of seeking. I thought about resurrection as it was a big thing in pop culture at the time. I looked into Hinduism, mostly because my favorite singer, George Harrison was one (not a good reason to follow a faith, though). When I first started thinking about Christianity, it started with the Jehovah's Witnesses. I studied with a family for quite a while (almost a year). The studies were pretty good. They were from a little book that told lessons and then had scriptures to look up. In the end, I rejected being a JW for various reasons. It was then that I attended a Baptist Church. In reality, I wasn't really a Christian at all. Then in August, 1983, when I was nearly 18 years old, I picked up a Good News Bible that my grandmother had given us- it was actually only a New Testament version called "Good News for Modern Man". I'd look at it, but I never thought to read it. I realized that I didn't know anything about Jesus at all! Not a thing. Reading it (I read the whole thing in one day)I realized what I had heard from Preachers and evangelists wasn't exactly the same as what I was reading. From the moment I finished reading it, I was a Christian.