• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Questions concerning Gnostics

Theweirdtophat

I have little knowledge about Gnosticism but I was wondering, would this be considered an abrahamic religion? I hear they look at Christ but do they worship Jesus or just show respect for him?

Is there a difference between a Gnostic and a Gnostic Christian? If so, what might it be? what are their views on the afterlife, such as Heaven/reincarnation. Do they have a place of worship like Gnostic temples or churches or do they worship at home? Do they worship God or just respect him? What are their views on magic? Do they practice it?

Theweirdtophat

Sorry just asking if others knew as I haven't found decent reliable resources and thought I'd ask some Gnostics here.

nazz

Doubting Thomas
Sorry for the slow response. I'm not around much anymore.

I have little knowledge about Gnosticism but I was wondering, would this be considered an abrahamic religion?
It could be in a sense but not in the normal sense of that term as gnostics generally see the creator of this world as an inferior being.

I hear they look at Christ but do they worship Jesus or just show respect for him?
Depends on the individual really

Is there a difference between a Gnostic and a Gnostic Christian? If so, what might it be?
There are non-christian forms of gnosticism. A gnostic christian would be following the christian expression.

what are their views on the afterlife, such as Heaven/reincarnation.
Again depends on the individual. There is not much in the classical literature on those subjects.