• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Right Livelihood

The Rev

As one of the eight in the Eightfold Path, Right Livelihood is important. And, since I'm currently unemployed and looking for a new job, I want to do something that will be more in line with the Dharma. I used to be a manager and engineer in a number of manufacturing companies; I'm very good at organizing, and at statistical analysis.

However, when I try to think of jobs, I find myself at a loss. Work at a homeless shelter? As a bookkeeper for a Buddhist or other charitable organization? I guess I'm just looking for ideas. If anyone has any suggestions about possible areas to look into for employment, I'd love to hear them. I am kind of at a loss as to where to start.

Thanks.
:namaste

Revoltingest

Pragmatic Libertarian
Premium Member
Have you considered non-traditional engineering fields such as hospital systems management?
(I know someone who does that. Medicine is rather backwards in that area, & could benefit greatly.)

SageTree

Spiritual Friend
Premium Member
It was actually one of THE major spurs for me in my 'going back to school' decision.

I LOVE landscaping and gardening... but it's very hard on my body physically in order of the pace of work and it's load, also all the dust, pesties and gas fumes.

Not to mention what chemies do to the earth.

Most landscaping I've found works against nature a lot of the time.

All in all, I did NOT want to get 'locked in' to that.