• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Survival of the Adequate

bannedtechnology

Hello all,

As a biologist by trade, I always find the topic of evolution to be quite interesting.
While this topic has clearly been addressed throughly on this site, I thought I would make point for discussion:

While "survival of the fittest" is a often seen as the central theme of evolution, it was never expressed in this manner by Darwin and can be expressed as a 'layman' term. Evolution is better described as 'survival of the adequate', meaning those adequate enough to survuve to reproducing age and reproduce will pass their genes on to the next generation. This partially explains why the process of evolution does not attain perfection and why species often carry fatal genetic predispositons.

Cheers

Kilgore Trout

Misanthropic Humanist
I think we could strip this down further to "survival of those who survived to reproduce." Considering the number of people who don't seem to understand even this fundamental concept, we should really break it down to the nuts and bolts for them.

sandy whitelinger

Veteran Member
Hello all,

As a biologist by trade, I always find the topic of evolution to be quite interesting.
While this topic has clearly been addressed throughly on this site, I thought I would make point for discussion: