• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

UU Atheists

EverChanging

chalice_circle: UU Atheists: An Endangered (and Embattled) Species?

I almost didn't post this article because I didn't want to open up a can of worms, but it's a good topic.

I am new to UU and have only attended one, very small congregation a few times. The services there can vary widely, some so secular that one might leave wondering what it had to do with spirituality or church, and others more spiritually oriented, like the Earth Mass with flower communion.

Overall, the congregation seems to be oriented toward Humanism, and there are at least three other atheists who are members. One of the members, who has become a good friend, probably wouldn't use that label, but her worldview is naturalistic. It was wonderful to meet other atheists there, especially since I'm living in such a conservative area, but I was delighted to meet a Wiccan, too. In fact, I think I would be a little bored with a church full of only Humanists, even though that describes my worldview (though inadequately, as any other term -- I am very eclectic in my spirituality.)