• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

What's with all the droughts?

MissAlice

It seems to be happening in Kenya where my aunt works and other countries: Somalia, Ethiopia, Kenya and Djibouti. Is it global warming or just climate change? Nonetheless I found this very disturbing and wonder how this will affect not only man but all of the living habitat. My biggest fear is it spreading but I'm not a scientist so maybe I'm overreacting.

BBC News - Kenya drought: Starvation claims 14 lives in Turkana

rsd

ACBSP77
Know what you mean. Here around Austin, Texas - North, South, East & West of here it is bone dry. The Guadalupe River has no water in it to speak of. Yet it is so hot tubbers by the thousands and trying to float down it. What water there is, is pretty nasty. Somehow I tend to think our sun has gotten a bit hotter, thus all this heat. I've seen NASA pics of ice caps on other planets melting, too. No humans there. Just more natural heat and I think that comes from the sun, thus my thinking about it. Stay cool!

work in progress

I can't post links yet, but a quick term search will tell you that the increased amount of energy in the weather systems now, thanks to global warming, along with the increased amount of precipitation in the atmosphere, gives us a world with more severe droughts and floods.

work in progress

Hi everyone!

Here is a link to an article from The Guardian that states that the higher temperatures and unpredictable rain patterns could result in a 20% decrease in the growing season in the Horn of Africa.