• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Ask a Practitioner of Meditation and Mindfulness

Debater Slayer

Vipassana
Staff member
Premium Member
Inspired by this thread, I thought I would start an interview thread specifically focused on my meditation practice.

Some background to get this started:
  • I have been practicing meditation and mindfulness since late 2017, and my practice has expanded a lot since then to incorporate more techniques and also become more embedded in my daily habits.
  • The bases and inspirations of my practice are DBT, Zen Buddhism, and some of Thich Nhat Hanh's experiences and advice based on his lifelong peace activism and practice of meditation and mindfulness.
  • Some of the techniques I use are visualization, anchoring in the present moment (mainly using breathing and slight body movements), and acceptance of the imperfection and impermanence in the world.
  • The main goals of my meditation include acceptance of what I cannot change, focusing on doing my best to care for myself and others where and when I can, fostering compassion as well as dissolving any hatred, and maintaining mental stability. Thankfully, I have never been prone to much anger in the first place, so meditating to eliminate anger has always been easy for me.
Feel free to ask any questions!

The Sum of Awe

Brought to you by the moment that spacetime began.
I guess I would start by asking how much you've been able to obtain your main goals, and if those main goals have been fulfilling in improving the quality of your life?

Debater Slayer

Vipassana