• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

My life in the ICOC... and why I think it's a cult.

Scuba Pete

Le plongeur avec attitude...
As I begin this, I need to point out a flaw in my personality: I am a man of extremes. I embrace vocations, avocations and hobbies with intensity: I do them all the way. I was not content to be a mere grease monkey, I was master certified in both Automotive as well as diesel. Rather than being content to learn how to climb, I became an instructor. I am also an instructor trainer (I teach other instructors) for First Aid, Scuba DIving and even fishing. Although I abhor violence, I am in the middle of being certified as a firearms instructor for the NRA. I almost always exceed the minimum of training whenever I set my mind to learn something.

So it was with Christianity.

I was converted from UU to Christianity in the Fall of '75. Crossroads church of Christ was known to many churches of Christ for it's zeal to convert the world to Christ. In fact, many considered us a cult even then, including my mother. The UF paper (The Independent Florida Alligator) once pointed out that there were three things that happened to ALL students. 1) Spend more than an hour in a line to get a class, 2) Be hit by a bicycle, and 3) Be invited to a Soul Talk. Our small groups aimed at converting as many as possible were called Soul Talks, and we studied the Scriptures in such a way as to convict students to Christianity.