• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Should the military be able to advertise in our schools?

Bishka

Veteran Member
Should the military be able to advertise in our schools? This is the time of life that most teenagers are confused about life and trying to find themselves, is is appropriate for the military to be in our schools?

This group says "OUT!"

"Military Out of Our Schools"

What are your opinions?

robtex

Veteran Member
That is a great topic Becky!! I frubal you in a mintue for ante this up. I graduated from high school in 1987 and I can still rememer the Marine Corps recruiter at my school. SGT Zapata. He called me at the end of my freshman year of college to see how my schooling was going.

The reality is that a recruiter is working in a prioritory field with no buffer from competing organizations or efforts. Military service is a monopoly. Nobody comes in and gives the pros and cons of it. The recruiter comes in gives his pitch and there is no other pitches.

I specifically remember that my recruiter (I chose college instead) , talked about education, career opportunites, money, lodging, respect ect ect..but he didn't talk about war, death, life insurance, or any other negative aspsets of it. In addition, and in my case my parents wouldn't have cared either way, but my parents had no idea who SGT Zapata was or that he was even there. No letter went to the parents or anything. There is no check and balances.